Help for total novice please

I'm new to astronomy although had an interest for years. Just purchased my first telescope a Dobsonian Sky watcher, this was purchased second habd and looks in very good order although it turns out it was sent with eyepieces from another scope. the eyepieces are a 10mm and a super 25, no other markings, I also have an extension tube both in the 2" section of the focuser and one in the 1.25 section.

I am obviously making some stupid basic fault becase I simply cant get a focus on any object, not even the moon! I have consulted my books but the mistake I'm making must be so basic I can't find anything that helps.

I have tried using eyepieces with and without extension tubes, and have checked the alignment of the top mirror all look to be fine.

I have found that I can get a focused view if I move my eye about 9 inches away from the eyepiece, I'm sure this is not how it should be viewed, too small to see anythig other than the moon!

I'm alowing the scope 2 hours to aclimatise before use, mirrors and eyepieces appear free from any misting.

Afraid I don't know any other astronomers (yet) who I can ask for help, are ther any kind folk out there who could put me on the right track?

P.S it's a dobsonian 10" fith computerised tracking. I live just outside Southampton in Chandlers Ford.

Many thanks

Chris

I have found that I can get a focused view if I move my eye about 9 inches away from the eyepiece, I'm sure this is not how it should be viewed

That certainly does not sound right.

It wont take very long here til someone sets you on the right path to cure your problem.

Nice scope BTW.

both the eyepieces are 1.25 size, the 2" extension tube fits between the focuser and the adapter for the 1.25.

I have tried hand holding the eyepiece in the space of the2" opening but this shows nothing that I can see.

Thanks for the idea.

Chris

If it is like mine you just use the 1.25 extension with eye pieces