Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Why don't folk use external laptop batteries instead of lead acid batteries?

PapaPlanets

I'm confused. I'm a noob about to buy his first scope (2nd hand C6 on a CG5-GT) and I'm wondering why (in the UK at least) people don't use lithium ion batteries to power their goto mounts instead of lead acid ones like the celestron powertank?

It seems you can pick up a 7-10AH 12V 2-2.5A external laptop battery for £50-£60. This is the price of a cheap Maplins car battery starter, let alone the £80 7AH powertank. It's smaller, lighter, cheaper, etc. etc.

Universal 10000mAh USB External Battery Pack and: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

Rechargeable Universal Batteries Laptop/ portable DVD/ TV/ Camcorder

Am I missing something? Is there a catch? A US astronomy shop Starizona, has started branding their own.

Hello everyone btw, first post ;)

A friend of mine who lives in Finland flys his QuadCopter (which uses Lipo batteries) in -40C conditions without any real problems - apart from the odd problem with parts of the electronics not liking it.

Li Po's are not affected by cold any more than conventional batteries. I have many rc models and take part in airsofting (like paintball but with battery operated realistic imitation firearms). I exclusively use Li Pos.

Couple of caveats with li Po's, and most people will know this anyway, letting them fall below 3.6 volts is usually fatal to the battery. However you can get a voltage cut off for them which will warn you as it approaches the minimum voltage and cut power if it falls to 3.6v.

All batteries are affected by cold weather including lead acid. Li Po's WILL NOt die in cold weather you just have reduced running time, same as any other battery.

You need to keep the cells balanced, so you need a good quality Balance charger. An Imax B6 is excellent.