NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Complete Novice - First Night With Celestron CPC 800

Hi all,

Managed to use my Telescope for the first time last night. Very clear skies over Devon. :D I had no idea how to start, but by the end of the night i feel like it was a night well spent learning my Telescope and it's setup and features. I carried it into the garden in two stages. Tripod first, then the Telescope. I was setup within minutes and ready to go. I was in a race because the moon was slowly disappearing behind the house. I tried the 3 star align and set it to goto the Moon. The Telescope pointed to completly the wrong area of the sky? I thought it must be the GPS or local time setting. I checked i'd set it to Universal Time.

The next few times i tried the Align it failed. I then realized my scopefinder was off centre. Also, i think i was picking too faint stars. Finally got it Aligned and everything just looked wrong with a black dot in the middle. I was starting to think the Telescope was broke and even checked for something stuck on the end lol. I set the GoTo to Jupiter and it looked the same. Just a light with a black dot in the middle.