NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Celestron vs Skywatcher - eyepieces

I'm currently looking at building up my eyepiece collection, and to be honest am completely flummoxed by all the choices. My scope is a Celestron Nexstar 6SE, so obviously I've been looking at the Celestron eyepieces. But there seems be a bigger range of Skywatcher eyepieces at a more affordable price.

This may be a stupid question, and I apologise if it is, but am I right in thinking that the Skywatcher eyepieces will work ok with a Celestron telescope? I'm still getting used to all the technical terminology around eyepieces and am feeling a bit overwhelmed.

I've got a 9mm Plossl eyepiece that I don't get on particularly well with (although I accept that this is pushing the telescope's boundaries) and a 25mm eyepiece that I am very pleased with. I'm looking at getting a couple of EPs between these (12-18mm).

Thanks in advance for your advice.

I'm no expert on the mechanics of EP's but yes.................SW will work with Celestron. Pretty much any brand of EP works with any brand of scope.

Personally i use these with all of my scopes:

First Light Optics - Vixen NPL eyepieces

p.s.~~~i wouldnt think that a 9mm EP is pushing the boundries of the 6se.

Edited by LukeSkywatcher

Your Celestron 6SE is a f/10 scope so therefore its not so critical when it comes to eyepieces. In saying that other things need to be taken into consideration.

1) the amount of money you want to spend

2) eye relief especially if you want to wear glasses when viewing

3) field of view of the EP

There are some very good EPs which would be ideal for your scope - Hyperions (although they are now about £90), Celestron X-Cel LX (which are £69) - these have good eyerelief and a 60 degree FOV.

Lets us know you price band and we can recommend other EPs.

Mark