NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Expensive mount first?

I'm new to all this and my only experience is with an old £70 telescope I've had in the loft for years and only recently dusted off. Now that I live in a rural location I was suprised what I could see with it. However I now intent buying some real equipment.

Having looked around and almost went for a Celeston NexStar 6SE as portability is my utmost priority, however DSO is also an interest and possibly astrophotgraphy so after using google as my friend I relalise that the SE mount isnt up to the job.

So Do I splash my cash for a Celestron CG-5 Goto and add a cheap OTA to try and keep the budget in the below £1K for now with a hope of upgrading later to a better OTA later as funds allow. I'm thinking hard about this approach but I'm concerned at the portability of this setup as the CG-5 looks a bit cumbersome, as I said portability is the key for me as I live a two center life...

Or do I just give up and go back to the NexStar 6SE option and upgrade once I've exhausted those pleasures ??

Any comments or advice welcome :icon_salut:

I would always suggest something cheap and reasonable then see if you are still dragging it outside and looking in a years time.

If you are then get what you want.

I started with something for about £200, used it initially, didn't use it for about 5 years then started again. Glad I didn't get the 8SE for it to sit round doing nothing.

Actually use the small £200 scope the most still, and have scopes costing 5 times as much and enormously better.

A light bucket dobsonian could be in the running, then. You want something to use now with upgrade options, a dob is that. Buy it, enjoy it and put a big suitable mount under it later on or keep it for DSO and get your 8SE later on instead.