Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M42 first attempt

badboybubby

Hi,

Tried to image M42 last week. First ever attempt.

I'm pretty new to both DSLR and very new to telescopes.

I took this using my Skywatcher 127 MAK and my ESO450D (unmodified) from my heavily light polluted back garden.

I could only manage 5 second exposures before the stars went fuzzy as I only have a AZGOTO mount which doesn't track too well. I used 18 5 second frames and 12 Dark frames (still don't have a clue if that's enough or even the right ratio!) then stacked them in Deep Sky Stacker.

Is this a typical image?

Also, how do Image DSO's in colour?

thanks

Any feedback appreciated....:D

post-27289-13387772828_thumb.jpg

First off, well done.... looking nice for a first try!

Even with an Alt/Az mount you should be able to get 20 second or so exposures from your set up without star trails.

20 minutes or so of total data is where it starts to really look nice for M42.

As a general rule... about 20 - 30 darks is a good idea, and about 10 - 20 flats should do it.

As for colour... you are shooting in colour... to get more colour out of the image, try boosting the saturation in DSS (assuming that's what you're using to stack the images) by about 20% or so.... that will help a lot. You don't need to 'add' colour to an image taken with a DSLR.

Give the levels a little push in Photoshop too if you have it, should be some more detail in there.

Ben

Hi,

Tried to image M42 last week. First ever attempt.

I'm pretty new to both DSLR and very new to telescopes.

I took this using my Skywatcher 127 MAK and my ESO450D (unmodified) from my heavily light polluted back garden.

I could only manage 5 second exposures before the stars went fuzzy as I only have a AZGOTO mount which doesn't track too well. I used 18 5 second frames and 12 Dark frames (still don't have a clue if that's enough or even the right ratio!) then stacked them in Deep Sky Stacker.

Is this a typical image?