Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

reassurance needed

pixueto

Just started taking pictures with my canon 350D. I am a completely novice and I started with M31 because it was easy to find and quite high up in the sky –but not sure it was a good choice any more! Got about 1 hour and 7 mins stacked in DDS and this is what I got. Not sure about what I am doing, though. Does this look like a valid picture to work with in Photoshop? The image came out of DSS with the RGB showing curves in different parts of the histogram for each colour –I read somewhere that this is due to light pollution in my area. I aligned them in DSS and changed the luminance settings as the programme tutorial says. I would really appreciate if someone could tell me if I am doing things right or, if not, show me the right direction. Thank you very much

post-30999-133877720725_thumb.jpg

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don’t remember doing that but I tampered with the luminance curve. When I stuck the subs, the R, G and blue histograms are in different parts of the x axis. I put then together manually in DSS. Is that OK?

Pix you have the same set up as me a 200p and Eq5 with a canon camera. Read my blog and take a look at my photoshop tutorials to see what you can do with that gear hopefully it will be of some help to you. Using the high pass filter on galaxys works well to bring out dust lanes. :)

Sent from my GT-S5670 using Tapatalk

Thanks quartermass, I’m on it. Just finished with histograms and curves and I understand how they work. Last weekend was my first time taken subs for DSO’s. Just wandering if I’m doing things right. By the way, it took me a while realising that I must put the R, G and B histograms together in DSS. Maybe you should mention that in your blog.