Advice for progression to Astrophotography

Hi

I have been totally bitten by the bug and having dabbled with a friends telescope and having been totally inspired by the BBC's offerings this week I am desperate to get my own telescope!

I am an accomplished night time photographer - particularly with light painting and also star trails. I am fascinated by Astrophotography and know that I will want my new hobby to blend with my passion of photography.

I want to buy something that I can grow into as I learn astronomy that will also be usable for photography with the necessary additional equipment as and when I am ready. I dont want to buy something that will have a limited life span that needs upgrading in a short time.

My local store has recommended a Sky Watcher 200P with and EQ5 Goto mount as the way to go for this.

Budget wise this is a little more than I was wanting but not much. What I dont want to do is make an expensive mistake and to try and establish if this set-up will be usable by a relative newbie in the first instance and indeed be usable as the hobby develops for me over the coming months and years.

Any help and advise would be most welcome.

Thanks in advance!

The first thing to recommend is to get the book First Light Optics - Making Every Photon Count - Steve Richards This will save you a lot of money in the long run as well as give you a very solid grounding in AP.

The general mount considered to the minimum for AP is the HEQ5 (Although there are always those who manage with less and get good results) - The mount is the single most important piece of hardware, if it is not totally stable, then your pictures will show it.

You don't mention what camera's you already have.

You don't need a scope to get some good night sky images. Many nebula for example will frame nicely in a 200mm lens for example.

I would recommend a refractor scope, the kit of choice for many is an ED80, coupled with a DSLR and reducer, you can get some great shots.