NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First scope advice please..too much choice.

Reposting from another thread as this is the proper place for the topic

Hi all,

I am sure there are a million an one threads about new people wishing to start up astronomy asking for advice but please bear with me. I will value your responses greatly in my selection.

Let me first explain my own experience, my ambitions and my situation.

I have no experience whatsoever with any telescope. I am an absolute beginner, I know maybe 3 or 4 constellations in the sky but have had a burning desire to learn more about the universe i inhabit for a long time and now can afford to follow it properly.

I live in a small town (approx 200k people) which has a moderate level of light pollution. On a clear night there is a band of orange on the horizon in all directions but as you rise up past 15 degrees or so from horizon stars are visible with the naked eye. All major star consetllations should be visible with the naked eye. A short 10-15 minute drive from my house in any direction would be in much better conditions and certainly my back garden has zero local light pollution so after a few minutes my eyes adjust very well to the darkness, the only problem i have with LP is the town's orange glow. I do not know how to gauge the level of magnitude i can view.

My interest in astronomy is one of vision only not imaging. I dont have the budget to stretch that far at the start, maybe one day but not now. I would like to see good views of the moons surface, the system's planets, stars I cant see with the naked eye, the various DSOs that are relatively easy to spot. I appreciate that my light conitions make viewing any difficult DSOs impossible to find so I neednt gear up for them just yet.

Now; I've spent the last few days reading posts here and reviews there and have swayed between purchasing a number of different scopes but just can't seem to make an absolute decision.