COLLIMATED

Hello all,,and thanks for taking time out to read my question,,i just got (yesterday),a celestron astromaster 130eq and i set it up with no probs,i've been reading reviews and topics and their talking about collimated do i have to do that before i use it or is it already done??:D...i like to see jupiter soon,,,I'm new to all this but intersted in astronmy,, thank you,, greg

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you baught a cheshire aswel, have a quick check to see but it shouldn't be far off from the box, get outside, cloud permitting and enjoy your new kit :D

Have a fiddle, you wont break owt, when the clouds/sun is knocking about

Hi,

Collimation is alignment of the optics and needs to be performed more often with Newtonian Reflector telescopes, than with other types. I bought my most recent scope, a Skywatcher Explorer 200P and also bought a Cheshire eyepiece to assist with collimation. On checking the scope straight out of the box, the secondary mirror was a long way out of collimation, as was the primary.

There are plenty of web resources telling you various ways to carry out the procedure (google collimation), but the most important piece of advice (though it is hopefully obvious) is to keep the tube horizontal when collimating the secondary - dropping the allen key onto the primary mirror equals a bad day! Also wearing of soft gloves to avoid fingerprints on the mirrors is a good idea, although it's best not to touch in the first place. Hope this helps.

"to check, de-focus on a bight star in the middle of the FOV and as long as it's round you've nothing to worry about."

Thats about the clearest,simplest and most user friendly definition of collimation i have ever read. That should be written up the top of the page somewhere were it can be seen by all. Collimation is/can be a very scarey thing to people who have only bought a telescope (reflector) for the first time. Its not scarey at all really.