NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

At a cross roads ... some help to guide me on my way

Hi everyone,

I'm at a cross roads and I don't know which way to turn. I need some objective advice ... please.

First let me just explain where I am and what I have. A have a SW150PL on a HEQ5 Pro mount. My main interest is imaging using a webcam, so that is mainly the moon and planets. I do have a Nikon D40 that I'm hoping to use some time in the future. I'm a beginner but I don't go out and film at every possible opportunity. Maybe once a month at the most. I do do some visual observing but it's mainly imaging.

I have a hankering for bigger and better (mainly better) images.

Down one road is an upgrade to a SW200P ... bigger aperture ... I can use my existing eyepieces and remote control focuser (from my 150PL) ... and my web cam ... and hopefully my Nikon ... and it will fit ok on my existing mount.

However, I've read that to get the most from an upgrade, one should try to increase the aperture by 4 inches ... so in my case that would be a 250. But a 250 OTA would be a too much for my mount (I've got no plans to upgrade my mount).

Another road leads to an ED80 ... which is highly recommended for astrophotography especially for wide field star views. But I'm not sure whether this would be good value for money (for me) as I'd have to buy extra bits to fit my Nikon onto the scope ... and I would have to change my interests a bit (I do have the book 'Making every Photon Count').

Yet another road leads to a Canon 1000D body ... or perhaps a cheaper 350D body.

Yet another road leads down to accessories ... like a focusing mask for my 150PL ...

I know that one scope doesn't fit all.

I also know that just because one can spend a lot of cash ... it doesn't mean that one should.