Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First Scope Purchase - Advice Required Please!

Guys,

Looks like lady luck has finally smiled on me, and I've got a few spare quid to spend on a new scope. Well, actually as a pretty much complete beginner, it's more a case of "I've got a few quid to spend on a complete setup". I'm a complete novice when it comes to astronomy - and my only experience so far is that I've been able to borrow my brothers 4.5" Celestron Power Seeker reflector for the past couple of weeks to have a bit of a play around and start to learn the sky - and I've really enjoyed using it, but unfortunately it has to go back soon.

SteveL showed me some pictures a few weeks back that he'd taken with his Meade ETX-90 and LPI and I was pretty much blown away - which then lead to me borrowing the 4.5", and starting a major surf-a-thon to find out more. I also have an 11 year old son who's shown a lot of interest - so any scope that I choose needs to be easy to use for not only me, but also for him (he's having to stand on a box to get a view through the 4.5")

My other requirements are as follows:

Imaging: I've been awestruck by the results you guys are getting, and the stuff I've seen over at the UKAI site. One day, I'd like to be able to do something similar. I've already got a Canon 300D, so I guess the sensible thing to do is start with that?

Visual: While I'm happy to sit huddled up in the garden clicking around on the laptop capturing images for hours, my son isn't - he wants to be able to see stuff. He got to see Saturn for the first time a couple of weeks ago, and didn't stop talking about it constantly for three days.