Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Skyliner 300p Dobsonian decision time

Hi everyone,

I am new to astronomy but have been doing a lot of reading and research over last few months and pretty much decided to go out tomorrow and order my first proper scope that I have been saving for.

I have been using some old 10x50 binos and have learnt more than I thought just by using these.

I have read lots of threads on the Skywatcher 12" Dobsonian and I am pretty much convinced that it's the one for me unless I am convinced otherwise! :D I am tempted with Auto version but I would rather save the cash and spend on a better eye piece. But anyways tomorrow will be decision time. I can't wait!

P.S. Just have to say how great this forum is and how informative it has been :)

Ross

Hi Ross and welcome to SGL :)

The 300P is a great scope and a good choice. It comes with two eye pieces that are quite accpetable and a little better than the ones supplied with cheaper scopes.

Imho the auto is worth having as it saves you having to manualy adjust the scope every few mins (means longer viewing of an object). It will track dead center for around 30mins+.

Enjoy the forum :D

Welcome, Spooky!

It's obviously hard to give advice without more info, but you appear to have done your research and that's the main thing. A 12" is considered the Goldilocks size by many observers. You're giving up a certain amount of light gahering compared to a 16" but not as much as you may think. The 12" makes up for it by being more portable and retaining a good eyepiece height without requiring sub f/5 optics.

If you need portability, make sure you don't opt for the solid tube.

Thanks peeps.

There's no way I could get a 16". Way to big for my humble shed! Or be able to move it for that matter :) So it's good to know the 12" is ideal.

Portability is not really an issue at 12". Although seeing the beast up close may scare me a bit! But I intent to go for closed tube.