Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First M31, First Guided, First Light C80ED

jnc71106

this is my first ever attempt at M31 it is my first guided picture and also first light with my new C80ED

i realise the picture isnt amazing and that it needs loads more data but thought i would get some thoughts on it first

had a few problems with an irratating security light in my next door neighbours garden so lost a load of my subs. seems to be some trailing in the pic but im no expert im sure others on here will be able to tell me what it is

10x 600s lights iso 800

5x 600s darks iso 800

will do flats in the morning

stacked in dss and played with curves/levels a bit in gimp

taken with

c80ed

canon 1000d (unmodified)

heq5 syntrek

qhy5 finderguider

post-24512-133877638151_thumb.jpg

that is very good for your first attempt with that setup. It's not easy to get guiding right, let alone for 600s exposures as you have. The stars are slightly oblong towards the corners as the field isn't entirely flat with the frac, but I've always found the C80-ED to be a great scope for the money. I think with a bit more processing, the outer edges of the galaxy could be brought out without burning the inner core. The exposures are certainly long enough to have captured it, so I'm sure the data is there.

Thanks everyone. I'm happy with the result considering the issues I had with lights and dew think i need a dew heater as it was quite bad last night

The finderguider worked a treat as well the phd graph was nice and flat apart from when a hedgehog gave me the fright of my life and I knocked the mount

Hopefully I can get out again soon and have another go

Jake