Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Celestron 6se Alignment help for a Newbie

I'm a newbie to telescopes. I recently purchased a Celestron 6se from ebay which, for a first scope is quite a handfull.

After having the scope for a week and it being cloudy since, I only got the chance to try it out last night.

I set it on a level surface using the spirit level and selected 3 star align.

I first chose Vega then Deneb and some other star I don't know what but the alignment failed.

Maybe I put in the wrong time zone because I did not recognise the time zones on the screen, no GMT. I chose "universal" I think.

I selected Liverpool as city ( I'm in Blackpool ).

I did put the correct date in, although because it is american I found I had to put the month first.

I would like to know what time zone to put in and is there another city I can chose.

Also, I had a few problems setting up the star finder. The red dot was too bright to see a star through it so I turned it down, but sometimes it would flicker and go off. Is it crucial to set this up for alignment?

Any help would be appreciated.

Usually Universal = GMT.

I would have thought that the option was a numeric one and that you (we) would have been 0, or 00. Know it is on SW units.

Assuming that Universal is OK, then it should have asked if DST was applicable or not.

As we are using DST (=BST) without this the general set up would have been 15 degrees out. So at this time DST = YES.

The finder will not affect alignment, but your post then reads that you were aligning using the finder not the main scope. You have to do the alignment using the scope and an eyepiece. The finder is more for manual use of the scope when you locate an object by using the wider field of the finder then get the good view by the scope.

The more level the whole lot is at start up the better. Also start with a long focal length eyepiece for the alignment - wider view and on the 6SE it is useful.