NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian versus Skywatcher Explorer 200P EQ5... HELP!

I think after listening to experts on here the image capture adventure should come later as it brings along a lot of expense and i should concentrate on learning the skies first and enjoying the experience........so this brings me to which of the two scopes to look at seriously, ive had feedback about the 200p EQ5 , mostly positive may i add,but wondered what the difference was with the 200p DOBS? i would like to see the moon as close as possible and pheraps rig up to my pc and get to grips with DSO and planets. If i wanted to add the motor device to locate at a later date am i limited with a particular model? please remember to speak in english! haha im still learning!!! Any advice would be gratefully received, thanks.

The main difference is the mount. A dobsonian is a rocker box that sits on a turntable. Easy to set up and comparatively cheap - can be manual or motor driven.

The EQ5 is an equatorial mount that you polar align. This enables tracking motors to follow objects in the sky in a single plane - needed for imaging.

The dobsonian with motors is accurate enough to track and image planets and moon only because it tracks in two planes (alt/az), but for long exposure on dso's an EQ mount is pretty essential to achieve single plane tracking and the extra accuracy required. Hope that helps :BangHead:

The 200p dob will give you stunning views of the moon, DSOs are down more too sky darkness and light polution levels.

Adding auto tracking is not possible, or it may be but it isnt worth it due too costs involved-if you want GOTO get it from the start.