NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Probems with Synscan AZ goto

Hi, I'm a relative newbie and have posted a similar problem regarding the goto part of my Synscan AZ. I have a StarTravel 102 refractor mounted. I have no problem aligning the scope and usually use Acturus and Vega or Polaris.

When I choose an object to goto the scope slews off to find it but when it finds it it sets off again. If I'm quick and stop the slewing as it changes direction I check the eyepiece and lo and behold bingo! there it is in the FOV but otherwise it slews of without so much as a beep.

I've redoubled my efforts to ensure the mount is level and correct data given at set up. I can't always see the object I'm slewing to so won't always know when to press [ESC] . I even successfully upgraded firmware to handset v3.07 just in case.

While I was at it (hooked up to PC) I enabled telescope control via 'Stellarium', all-be-it in the comfort of my lounge. Sent the scope off to find Acturus which it did directly and stopped within a few pixels.

Please, please, please can someone out there tell me what I'm doing wrong or advise.:D

Many thanks.

Clear skies and dark nights.

Chris

Hi Chris

How far off is it if you leave it to finish slewing?

The mount will home in and then do a final adjustment - if the alignment is out then you may well see the target in the eyepiece during the final approach and then it moves off.

Can you describe your alignment procedure - what eyepiece you use and what method?

I have the SW102 Mak on the AZ GOTO and I can usually get the target in the field of view of my 25mm eyepiece.

Clear skies

Paul

Hi Chris

How far off is it if you leave it to finish slewing?

The mount will home in and then do a final adjustment - if the alignment is out then you may well see the target in the eyepiece during the final approach and then it moves off.

Can you describe your alignment procedure - what eyepiece you use and what method?