Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

I've bought a second hand CPC 925, but now I might be regretting it.

Hi all

I purchased a second hand CPC 925 last week which I haven't had the chance to try yet due to the weather.

I must admit that i naively wandered into this purchase without doing as much research as I should have, but also I didn't know exactly what I wanted. The CPC 925 seemed to be rated highly by a lot of people.

I've never used a telescope before so this is my first ever!

Now that I've thought about it more and read a lot on the internet, I think that I definitely would also like to see DSO's - and it would seem that this telescope can't really see DSO's. I'm not sure if I will be satisfied by just looking at planets (there are only 8) and the moon.

I now also think that I'd like to get into astrophotography and It would seem again that this scope isn't brilliant for that. I know it's possible to get a wedge to basically turn the mount into an equatorial mount, but from what i've read it isn't easy to do it well with a wedge.

I'm not really sure why I've added this post, but maybe I just want some reassurance that everything will be ok. One option is that I could sell the CPC and hope that I should get about the same price I paid for it.

As I've never used a telescope before, it's hard for me to say exactly what I'll enjoy looking at..

Cheers

Chris

It's not a wide field scope but perfectly capable of seeing lots of deep sky objects - 9.25" of aperture is more than many have access to.

From the reading I've done on SCT's (I've owned 5" and 8" Celestron SCT's) my understanding is that the 9.25" is considered one of the best.

I'm not an imager so I can't comment on that.

I think you need to stick with it - if it's your 1st scope it's quite an advanced one and it will take time to work out how to exploit it's strengths.