NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

finally got my first dslr :)

Bumfluff

hi gang,

Just got myself a Canon 1000d after reading up on T'internet about getting into astrophotography, (also where I stumbled upon this site). Hopefully I will get to try her out this weekend as we're off camping in Dorset!

I'm a total novice to photography having only ever used camera phones. I plan to start with basic shots like wide angle images of constellations using a tripod. I feel I need to get used to the camera before I attempt more complex set-ups using my scope. I'll soon be mounting it to my 127 Skywatcher MAK.

I'm sure no-one here is really interested but I'm feeling like a kid on Christmas morning.....can't wait to play with my new toy tonight! :D;) so apologies for the inevitable cloud cover over the South-West area this weekend :D

Just thought I'd share my joy with y'all :D

Greg :p

Thanks guys.. and yes it was with the 18-55 lens.

I've only had a little play with it last night figuring out what all the various modes and settings do, can't wait to try it out properly this weekend!

I need to sort out the adaptors for mounting it to my scope and to my Baader zoom eyepiece. Will get in touch FLO after the weekend to sort me out as they seem recommended highly on this forum.

Can't wait to take my first proper astro piccies....how sad does that make me sound!?? Bring on the Thermos flask and the wooly hat! :p;):D

Greg.

Not sad at all :D

In the short term if there a pic that you just have to capture use the camera on prog mode and let it sort it all out for you.. but most of the time you will probably want to use Av or Tv modes for a bit of creative control and then move over to full Manual.. theres an Excellent Sticky in the Photogrpahy section of the lounge...

http://stargazerslounge.com/photography/130933-photography-101-beginners-guide.html#post1703781

Billy...