Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Opinions on newbie telescope

Greetings all,

Just thought I'd run my thinking past some of you wise folks before parting with my hard earned dosh. I'm a beginner, looking to buy my first scope and prior to joining SGL I've spent many hours scouring the interweb to research this topic.

To cut a long story short I'm looking for a decent portable scope around the 500-750 quid mark that offers good all round performance. I live in a terribly light polluted part of London so I'm somewhat limited to lunar and planetary observations from the back garden. However, I'd like a scope that I can easily chuck (metaphorically of course) into the back of my Ford CMAX, alongside a few bags, and hotfoot to some dark sky areas for some DSO observing. Also, there's not much storage space in the house so the scope needs to pack down to a reasonable size.

Having spoken to a few other London based stargazers it's been recommended that I invest in a scope which has a GoTo mount. Apparently the light pollution round our way makes PushTo navigation frustratingly tricky and can result in evenings being wasted trying to find objects which aren't visible anyway due to the seeing conditions.

After much wailing and gnashing of teeth I reckon that the SkyWatcher SkyLiner 250P FlexTube Auto offers the best bang for my buck.

Skywatcher dobs seem to offer the best value for money to the novice such as myself. The 10inch model hits the sweet spot for aperture, weight, size and cost. The FlexTube seems to pack down well and (more importantly) be quickest truss tube design to setup. The Auto mount can be upgraded to offer GoTo capabilites more cheaply than buying the off the shelf SynScan model.