NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Will these be any good for me??

M3 Andy

Hi peep's.

Im new to all this so i need your advice/help.

I had my first telescope friday (celestron nexstar 127 slt) and i love it!!! but i want to see the moon closer and more deeper into the sky.....so what's next for me? Is a barlow the next thing?

Was thinking of these First Light Optics - Celestron Eyeopener Eyepiece and Filter Kit.

Any help would be brill. thank you.

Congratz on the new hardware! Those 127 Mak scopes have a brilliant reputation, particularly for planets, and there are loads of happy owners.

As to ep set you mentioned, a couple of thoughts,

the eps you get with scopes are not highly regarded, very basic, so buying decent ones is a good move,

but the ep sets that are available always strike me as a box of compromise, some items you will never use/need, the filters, except the moon one, spring to mind, and the ones you do use still aren't the best available.

Now I haven't ever bought one of these sets so cant speak from experience, it just my preference is to choose items individually and hunt out the good ones.

Ive had my two scopes three months now and only just bought a better barlow I realised I needed.

You will probably get people trotting out the perceived wisdom that Maksutovs are no good for deep sky objects, as if the light from these objects knows it travelling through a Mak and vanishes! Obviously not so, what the issue is the longer focal length means any ep you use will produce a larger, dimmer view. Your scope is gathering exactly the same amount of light as any other 5" (127mm) scope. You will just need to use the right ep to keep the mag down.

Regards

Barry

ok mate thanks for that. For now as im just getting to grips with the kit i want to study the moon i.e close up. tbh im getting amazing views at the moment but im always looking to go that little bit more lol.