Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Which EP's for a C9.25?

I recently got a C9.25 and would love some advice on which ep's to get as a minimum. Warthog's sticky recomends 7.5, 12.5, 20 and 30mm for F10.

I was wondering if 7.5mm may be a touch too much power for our seeing?

Does anyone have any tips what spread of ep's to go for with this scope?

Any tips on manufacturer would be a great help too, I don't think I can afford to go straight to Naglers only!!

Thanks,

John

I seem to have collected quite a few eyepieces for use with my C9.25, details in my sig. My favourites would be: -

Deep sky: 42mm LVW and 22mm Nagler

Planets: 9mm and 7mm Orthoscopics

Moon: 13mm and 8mm LVWs

John,

For an f10 beam the design of the eyepiece is not as critical as say for an f5 system.

Eye relief , wide field of view, having the eyepieces parfocal may be considerations.

I've been using TV plossls for the past 30 years - they do the job very well. Orthoscopic e/p are pretty good for planetary/ moon etc and even a Kellner (or the Edmund RKE) will work for lower powers.

You pay your money - you take you chance.

The "Parfocal" eyepieces are designed to focus at exactly the same point.

That way you can remove one eyepiece and insert another without touching the focuser. Makes life that bit easier.

8, 13 and 20 sounds okay. Though with my C9.25 I find my 8mm is often of no use due to bad seeing and drop back to a 10mm EP.

What type of 30mm are you thinking of getting? If you are going for a Plossl, then you should go for a 32mm as that will give you the maximum FOV for a 1.25" EP.

Have you thought about a nice 2" EP for widefield views?

Cheers,

Chris

I would love to go 2" for the widefield. When I picked up the scope I saw the sellers Nagler collection, WOW! I think I know where my future lies!