Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Image ISO and exposure for M13

Hi, I am looking at the weather on Saturday and thinking of trying to image m13.

What I would like to ask is: what is the best exposure length for an f7.5 ed80 scope.

The camera is a canon 1000d, I have a choice of modified or unmodified.

I will be using a 2" ed Barlow and a CLS clip filter as well.

Any advice welcomed. I am not sure but with my current setup image length is not really an issue. I should be able to achieve 10 min +

Thanks in advance, I wouldn't normally ask but I find myself under the stars so little now, that when I am I don't really want to be playing with exposure lengths before I start the main set of exposures.....and I wouldn't mind doing some darks before hand before it gets dark enough for the lights.

Hi there - firstly I am still learning, so please take this as the ramblings of an amateur, but I was playing with M13 last night and suspect we might need to be taking sets of subs at different exposure lengths to ensure we can capture the outer stars (longer exposures) and also resolve detail in the core without blowing that out.

This is a stack of 12 x 5 minute subs, with a very quick histogram stretch in Photoshop

post-35662-0-65659800-1432297668.jpg

As you can see the core is blown out already - this is heavily cropped mind - taken with an ED70 and a Canon 1100d with a 2" skywatcher LPF

When I get another chance I am probably going to try some shorter subs - maybe 3 minutes and even under 60 seconds to see what detail I can resolve in the core. It is always going to be difficult because of the amount of cropping required but longer is not always the best option when looking at brighter objects.

But, as I say, I'm no expert, so I am sure someone will come along to give you a better insight! 

Good luck!

Hi, I am looking at the weather on Saturday and thinking of trying to image m13.