NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Ultrascope - 3D Printed Telescope

Godit

So I just heard about this Open Space Agency project for a 3D printed telescope designed for a citizen science role. Its supposed to be a fraction of the cost of similar performance scopes but I haven't seen any real design specs or specific price points. I think they have a 3.5" demonstrator and are working on an 8" prototype. It looks exciting to me but I'm new to this hobby and perhaps a bit naive.

I'm skeptical about the "low cost" element because even with 3D printed parts, the mirror seems like it the bulk of the cost for a reflector like this, and that would still have to be made conventionally. I wonder if any of you would care to speculate on this project.

http://www.openspaceagency.com/ultrascope/

Ultrascope-3d-printed-lumia-8.jpg

• 2 months later...

And a 12", though flexure is a worry. You forgot the cost of the lumia phone to control it and take the pictures. I am worried it won't have the sensitivity or the field of view to be useful. Being able to auto point and track would be awesome... But then you could add this to any normal tracking scope of someone wrote a programme to involve plate solving.

We await some reviews and results. I would quite like a robot 12" that i can use to grab pictures of nebulae with a suitable filter.

PEterW

3D printing is great, but this looks like another in a long line of over-hyped "Wow- 3D printers can make ANYTHING!!!" sort of projects. As Peter points out, the mirror is the heart of a scope and that would have to be made conventionally.

A cheap way to make a driven mount and software and electronics to make it find stuff automatically or carry out imaging runs for NEO would be great.

Software to do the same with an eq6 and any CCS camera would also be useful.

Cheers

Peter