Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher Heritage 90 Virtuoso Telescope

Answer is going to be No.

THe mount is Alt/Az so tracks incorrectly.

The scope is a Mak so a long focal length which needs a good accuratly tracking mount and also requires longer exposures (long focal length = bigger prime image = dimmer image = longer exposures).

Also the whole setup will not easily take the additional weight of a DSLR attached to one end, it is not exactly a heavy weight mount.

For AP it is basically the wrong scope on the wrong mount.

You could drop a webcam in and image Saturn and Jupiter.

As above, the scope with a camera wont work for anything other than lunar/planetary however the camera can be mounted independently so with a wide angle lens up to say 50mm you could get up to 30 second exposures before field rotation becomes to obvious.

Alan

Hey people,

I've got one of these little scopes.

I'm no pro, nor have I used it for photography but I am pretty happy with it. I hung an iPhone on the eyepiece which gave a good pic considering it's an iPhone.

I'm happy with the mount too, again I can't comment on how it would cope with long exposure shots but if it's set correctly I can point it at something, go away for 10 mins and when I get back the something is still there. Also the fact you can move it by hand and the mount still knows it's position is pretty clever. Example: point it at Jupiter and store it's position, spin it round by hand to see what ever else there is, press the appropriate memory button and it shoots back to Jupiter. Very handy if someone comes to see what your looking at, you can kinda give them the highlights of the night just by pressing the buttons.

For me the bottom line is for what it cost this is a great little toy!