SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First shot at Mars...

For want of something new to have a go at, I thought I'd give Mars a shot for the first time. I found out afterwards I had polar aligned completely wrong (yes, I'm a newbie) although it didn't make too much difference to the video footage apart from it drifting out of frame after about a minute or so. Not ideal conditions, with quite a lot of haze below about 30 degrees, and I think I overexposed the footage - I made several videos but this was the best exposed.

'Sort of' processed in Registax (I'm still learning that too) but I coudn't push the wavelets too far because there was literally no detail in there and I started getting strange artefacts in the image, like a honeycomb effect. Anyone else had this issue?

Anyway, here it is - from Skywatcher 150P using 2x Barlow on T-2 mount to Panasonic GH3 in movie mode with teleconverter enabled, 1/200th shutter speed at ISO800, no filters used. 60 seconds of video (1500 frames) exported into Registax, best 400 selected. The image is not enlarged, it's simply cropped from the HD video size.

Any suggestions or comments would be welcome :smiley:

post-35766-0-92086400-1398306952_thumb.j

Any suggestions or comments would be welcome :smiley:

attachicon.gifMars 03a.jpg

Great first effort. You can try to eliminate the red cast at the bottom of the image (bluish at the top) in Registax. On the wavelet screen, find the button (on the right I think) for RGB align. When this pops up, you can extend a box around the image and click Estimate.

Also, did you crop the video first? If not, try PIPP.