Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Foucault tester

earth titan

Before buying a mirror blank, I've decided to build test equipment. Just so I can drop the mirror in during the grinding and test, and cos I'm in no hurry.

I've seen lots of drawings and sketches, even photographs but still unclear as to exactly what is required. The photos and diagrams in the NE Howard book are quite poor and don't seem to help too much.

I think I have the basic principles in my head, but does anyone have a good sketch, description or diagram? Being an engineer, I like engineering drawings, so these would be good.

these links will provide most of the info you will need to know about making and testing mirrors.

hope this helps . ps, pm me your address and i will post you some ronchi film which is easy to use ,

Mirror testing

Stellafane ATM: Build an Adjustable Mirror Test Stand

my you tube videos: http://www.youtube.com/my_videos?feature=mhum

I've made a couple. The first (moving knife-edge only) had a sliding base I made from perspex, with a Barr scale inscribed on it. The second was a slitless tester; the carriage was driven by an M6 threaded rod, which has a pitch of 1mm, with a pie-chart protractor (circle divided into 100, mere pence from WHSmiths at the time) as a poor-man's micrometer (but, in practice, the actual precision was nearer 0.05mm than 0.01mm, but still adequate for the job). No photos, I'm afraid, as I've long since given both away, since I've not made a mirror for about 15 years.

However, there's a pretty good page on them here. There are lots of images of various kinds on the interweb: try a Google image search.