Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi all would like to know where is best place to buy a telescope setup from and whats a decent one to buy! This will be my first one so it will be a starter but would like one that's gonna see some good stuff out in the sky! So if any one can help please do thanks

If only it were that easy lol - do you have a budget in mind?

You'll be wanting to do a fair bit of research if totally new to the hobby. The Primers Section is a good place to start.

Plus have a look at scopes in the £100-£200 range at First Light Optics (link at top of page). You need to understand the different types of scope and mount before making a decision. :)

I agree with the advise to go research.

I am a newbie as well, and I have yet to buy a scope. Currently just using my naked eye and a plain DSLR.

At first I thought I wanted the biggest telescope I can get for my money. This will result in a large Dobsonian reflector as it gives the best price per inch.

Then I realized I would do most of my observations from my light polluted backyard. And I need to store it somewhere.

So because of that I have adjusted my requirements to be brighter planetary instead of deep sky objects.

This means magnification means more. So I am now considering a catadioptric like Maksutov Cassegrain such as SkyMax 127. As a bonus it is compact.

Now I am trying to get a feel on how much I want to spend on a mount. Should I start with a cheaper tracking only mount like SupaTrak or get a high end HEQ6 because I want take photos as well?

So take your time, no need to rush, the universe is 13 billion yrs old, it will still be there!

S'n'S are my local astro shop too and have given me plenty of good advice. I first went there thinking I wanted a 130mm Goto, but after talking things over I opted for a Skyliner 200P dobsonian. Since been back a number of times to buy things and their staff have been very helpful.

Hey welcome to SGL :)