Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Image post processing expectations

I posted this thread on an imaging forum and got no response so trying again on beginners. Help would be hugely appreciated.

I am new to astrophotography.

I haven’t mastered auto guiding yet (long story) but I will do eventually.

However, I am getting some single images, that as a beginner, I am encouraged by.

I am subtracting Darks and stacking lights in DSS (limited to total of 10 – 20 mins total exposure at the moment as I am too impatient).

I have done loads and loads of background reading on post processing in Photoshop.

What I have still no confidence in, as I get such varied results, is whether I am reaching anywhere near the potential of these images with my post processing.

I have noticed people on the Forum taking other peoples shots and improving them.

I am being cheeky and directly putting a plea our for someone to have a go at one or more of my shots straight out of DSS to see what they can do with them with a view to me realistically setting expectations on my efforts.

Examples from the weekend just gone that I could provide include

Rosette Nebula

Horse Head Nebula

Eskimo Nebula

M35 + NGC2158

M38 + NGC1907

How do I best make the images available to the forum, the DSS output *.tif files are approx 95Mbytes?

Thanks again.

Steve.

A few tips.

1 For heaven's sake don't post images over 2-3MB. Leave them as 16 bit TIFFs but cut down the pixel size. If the worst comes to the worst post them as high quality jpegs.

2 Don't be impatient. You will very soon find that 20m exposures barely allow you to get more than just plain old noise.

3 You would be best off posting the Rosette as it is the brightest you have imaged.

Dennis

Ok Steve I had a bash at the Rosette. I have to say with just 15 mins of data I was pleasantly surprised to get this much detail out of it.