NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

First time Saturn

Noob here...just got my first telescope about a month ago, Celestron 127 SLT, and last night witnessed Saturn. Wow, very humbling. It appeared to be just white in colour, is that right? With the supplied 25mm EP it was fine, good too with the 9mm but impossible to see with the TAL 2x Barlow and 9mm. Would this have been too much mag for the SLT?

Cheers for any advice.

Peter

With the supplied 25mm EP it was fine, good too with the 9mm but impossible to see with the TAL 2x Barlow and 9mm. Would this have been too much mag for the SLT?

I have the SW version of this scope and yes the 9mm with the 2x barlow would be too much for this scope. That would effectively be the same as using a 4.5mm EP on it's own. The EP that most often gives goods views of saturn in my collection is my 16.8mm. I've used it with the deluxe 2x barlow which is effectively similar to using an 8.4mm EP on it's own and this works faily well if the seeing is good enough. If the seeing is really good then my 6mm EP on it's own gives a reasonably good view. However, this EP gets the least use as the seeing is rarely good enough.

I saw Saturn the night before last... breathtaking even with my Skyhawk 114p I have to say I spent ages trying all my eps and barlow... best view I think was 25mm with barlow... Can't wait to bag it again....

My next target is M1 crab nebula -Q. Will I see it?

I saw Saturn the night before last... breathtaking even with my Skyhawk 114p I have to say I spent ages trying all my eps and barlow... best view I think was 25mm with barlow... Can't wait to bag it again....

My next target is M1 crab nebula -Q. Will I see it?