Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Meade DSI on Alt/Az?

What are your thoughts on the suitabilty of this?

I know alt/az is not the way forward for lx but as a novice I'd be more than happy to settle for reasonable quality images of the brighter galaxies or nebulae. I'm guessing I'd have to stick to lots of shorter exposures. (I don't have a wedge and opinion seems to suggest it may not be worth it)

I know I wouldn't get anywhere near the quality of the images on here but is this a good way to dip my toe into imaging?

Thanks,

John:D

Hi John

You can use Drizzle which is part of the Envisage Suite, this allows for long exposures using two guide stars on an Alt/Az Scope using Field De-Rotation software, but this is only compatible with Meade Scope's, as you have an LX90 you should have no problems :). As far as image quality, you'll be surprised how good an image you will get.

http://www.meade.com/manuals/TelescopeManuals/dsi/DSI_III_manual.pdf

http://www.meade.com/autostar/update/drizzle_update.pdf

Simon

I too am interested in the Meade LX90 ACF SCT scope but was worried about comments relating to the mount and its limitations for astrophotography. The link to Steve P Hamiltons website was fantastic and certainly put my mind to rest. :)

Thanks,

Gary

You can do unguided short exposure alt-az imaging with an LX90 - that's how I started out. My results were somewhat woeful when compared with what others achieve, but encouraging enough for me to keep trying as I slowly accumulated kit that was more suited to the purpose.

The suitably of an LX90 for imaging was recently discussed here: http://stargazerslounge.com/beginners-help-advice/125613-meade-lx90-acf-8inch-uhtc.html#post1667070