Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

£400 upgrade??

Hi Guys

I was extremely happy(still am) with my surprise scope for christmas and I'm constantly looking outside for clear skies so i can get into the garden for some viewing. As it's my first scope i have to say i'm extremely pleased with what i'm able to see and take in and again as a newbie i have a lot to learn and so much to see.

Already though the urge to maybe upgrade to a scope for DSO's has gripped me......possibly a little too tightly ;)

After reading through post after post i realise there are so many choices for so many possibilities out there and it's so easy to submerge yourself in so much data...so here i am asking for a little advice.

What are my best options for £400????...there i said it lol. I'd like to keep my portability so i can just pick up and set up in the garden and get going pretty quickly. I'd like to be able to view some DSO's and get more detail on planets. Imaging isn't something i'm ready for and i know the cost of imaging is way more than my budget would allow anyway. If a goto set up is available then that would be a bonus but i wouldn't say it's a necessity.

I may be unrealistic with my budget but with a newborn on the way i'd be hard pressed to expand the wallet strings and face the wrath of er indoors :)

So there you have it,any advice and suggestions would be greatly appreicated and nothing will be dismmissed or scoffed at.

Thanks for your time and hope you have clear skies above :(

As I see it, if your interest is in visual DSO observing, you have a number of possible upgrade routes. These include:

Newtonian on Dobsonian mount - Pros. Quick and easy to set up. Best value for money if aperture is your sole priority. The Lightbridge or Flextube designs are more portable, but more expensive. Cons - Large, no tracking (on most).