NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Banding in image S/N issue using DSLR

Like a lot of people I am new to astro photography. My first attempt was not too bad (to me) with a stack of three images.

My next attempt has a lot more noise and banding when I stretched the image. This is a stack of 3x900 and 7x600 seconds at ISO800 on an unmodified Canon 7D. I also did 20x 900 dark frames and 20x600 darkframes.

Would this be what you would expect to see, or is this a case of poor quality subs?

I am not sure if this stack is worse due to poor subs or something else.

regards

David

post-21390-133877527597_thumb.jpg

Hi David, have you tried bias frames? Its just a matter of shooting 20 odd at the fastest exposure 1/4000 with the lens/apeture covered then subtracting those the same as darks, dss has the option.

Regards

Glen

Just to add that darks need to be taken at the same temp as lights/subs so no good

setting up then bringing the camera out from a warm house, running off loads of subs

then taking darks at the end of the session. Can add upto a large gap between temps.

as i found out letting the camera acclimatize gets better results.:)

Glen

You could take the BIAS frames now and apply them to your current data to see what effect they have. Don't underestimate the value of 'calibration frames' as these are key to getting the best results from your hard won data. 'Flat frames' for example would have an enormous effect on the vignetting on your image.

I have applied a couple or corrections to your image to simulate a BIAS frame and FLAT frame:-

post-13675-133877527619_thumb.jpg

Have a look at your darks .. if the 7D is anything like the 500D you can often get away with just letting DSS take care of the hot and cold pixels... I prefer to spend more time taking lights... a sure fire way of getting more "useful" signal...

I will always use bias and nearly always try and get flats...

Billy...