Need Advice on Value

8" Orion Dob; 4 EPs; Telrad, Filters including Polarizing for 300GBP  

14 members have voted

1. 1. 8" Orion Dob; 4 EPs; Telrad, Filters including Polarizing for 300GBP

• You Won't Beat That Price,
    • Middlin' Good Price But Not a Steal
    • Good Value for Money
    • A Bit High But You Won't Regret It
    • Seller Is Asking Too Much for That Kit.
    • I don't know either.

For the first time in the several months that I've been looking, I've found an 8-inch Orion dob for sale. From the photographs posted with it, care seems to have been given to the dob and to the accessories. Those include a Telrad, 26mm and 7.5mm Plossi eps plus a 12.5mm Meade ep and 24.5 mm 2" super wide angle from Meade. The seller also offers several color filters and a polarizing filter and the whole has a dust cover. I have no experience whatever and no way to gauge the value of the offer. The USD equivalent of 300GBP ($475USD) is the asking price. I've made no offer because I don't know enough. So, I'm posting this poll.

I'm the only voter so far RH !.

As a package I don't think that's bad value. Gets you up and running with a few useful accessories as well.

Over here the Skywatcher equivalent of the scope alone costs just over £300 new. add in the 3 additional eypieces, the filters and Telrad and you would have £430 or so I believe.

So it's not bad value in my opinion, not great, but not bad at all.

I've voted Rabbit :)

Johns advice above is a good guide. I usually look up the "new" prices of each item in the package on the internet. Get the cheapest ones you can find, and add it all together. You should be paying between 50% to 66% of the total depending on the age and condition of the gear. If it's a bit rough or over two years old I'll perhaps put in an offer under 50%.

But then - I'm a haggler and love a good bartering session lol :)