Advice wanted: Eyepieces in Celestron Eye Piece & Filter Kit

Hi,

My first post here, I hope you, the readers, can help.

I have just received the Celestron Eye Piece & Filter Kit, purchased from Amazon.

The description from the website states:

Box Contains

5 x Superior Grade Plössl Eyepieces - 1.25” (4mm,6mm, 9mm, 15mm, and 32mm)

Barlow Lens - 2 x 1.25”

6 x Colored Eyepiece(Lunar and Planetary) Filters - 1.25” (Kodak Wratten #12, #21, #25, #56, #58A, and #80A)

Moon Filter - 1.25”

Aluminum Carrying Case

However the kit I have received contains the following eyepieces:

6mm, 8mm, 13mm, 17mm and 32mm.

The rest of the kit is fine.

My first thought was that, this was not what I ordered.

However I am wondering if this selection of eyepieces is acceptable.

I am a beginner with a three-week old Celestron Astromaster 130EQ. This comes with a 10mm and 20mm eyepiece.

I have only had a few nights outside due to the weather and only one so far with the new eyepieces. My first impressions are that my views of the moon were amazing, but views of stars and Jupiter were blurred. I have read on this forum that this blurring might be due to the scope not having cooled down enough as it was being kept inside. The tube is now stored outside in a shed, so maybe when I next have clear skies things will be better.

Anyway, I would be grateful if anyone can offer any advice about my new eyepieces, should I return them and get what I was expecting, or is what I have a reasonable or better alternative?

Thanks

dag123

I wouldn't worry too much. I think you ended up with a better selection of eyepieces. The 4mm Plossl is not a pleasant eyepiece to use, really short on eye relief. The kind of eyepiece that never gets used.

What you have instead are some sensibly chosen Plossls which combined with the barlow give an excellent selection for the Astromaster 130. My guess is Celestron have tweaked the set to make it more useful.

I'd keep the set as received.