NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Imaging Jupiter

Hi Can anyone help me out here i have been trying to image Jupiter and not for the want of trying it just never seems to work i have a canon 350d and have tried all the settings and i have numerous filters all of which just seem to distort the colours and most of the pictures come out to bright with no detail. Any tips would be gratefully recieved.

:)

sorry just read your post and seen its been unanswered for a while I can't help as I don't own a dslr. If you post in imaging advice section somebody there may be able to help. I read somewhere that dslr's were not the best on planets but as I said I have no experiential knowledge of this.

Hi Mickyjd,

also just starting out at this but set up with a view to being able to move into imaging so read up a lot about it on here. Best bet for imaging many objects is using a reasonable webcam to record an avi. Freebie program (digistacker, I think it's called - there must be others) will take the individual frames and merge them (allowing you to take out any pants ones). The merged frames will give a far better image than you can get with a single frame - or so the theory goes.

Good luck,

J.

I think the biggest problem is the camera. The DSLR sensor is far too large for the job. You C8N has a FL of 1000mm, which only gives around 30x magnification with your camera. You will need a camera with higher pixel density and smaller sensor, such as a P&S or a webcam, and a barlow lens to increase your scope's effective focal length.