Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Back on the merry-go-round

Hi all, back again.

Well I feel I am still in limbo, having been let down by a supplier on a nexstar 130slt. I am still unsure where to put my money.

Explorer 150pds on eq3-2

Nexstar 130 slt Goto

Nexstar 127 slt (mak) Goto

Those who have read my other threads will be aware that I am new to telescopes but have a basic knowledge of the night sky. I am looking to use my telescope at home but will also be traveling around Europe in my motorhome in the summer so it needs to be able to travel. I want to view DSO as well as looking at planets. I would like to get into astrophotogrphy but am aware that this may be something to come to later.

I am unsure if I went for an eq3 mount and was observing planets or DSO for that instance how much I would have to have my hand on the tiller, as it were. Obviously the EP would have an impact on that answer, any thoughts?

In looking at the scopes in question these are my pros and cons:

Explorer 150pds -

pros, aperture.

cons, size and mount for transporting? No Goto

Nexstar 130 slt -

Pros, Goto, size

Cons, less light than 150, stability issues?

Nexstar 127 slt -

Pros, size, Goto, use for terrestrial use

Cons, f11 aperture, not good for DSO.

I would really be open to your thoughts.

P. S. Discounted a newt on a dob due to size and when traveling I would not always be able to guarantee have a good flat terrain.

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I was also let down on the NexStar 130 SLT (through Amazon), but managed to order one from OpticStar... They have them in stock (or they did when I ordered mine on Friday)!

Other than that I'm a complete novice... So in no position to offer any other advice, sorry!

Rob