NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Filters for imaging

Hola! I'm getting a webcam and adaptor etc, going to start looking at imaging when the skies clear. I was wondering what are the benefits of filters and whatnot? Would they help when imaging? Reason I ask is when I held my camera to the lens to take a picture of Jupiter it just came out as a massive white star rather than the marble coloured object I could see when just looking through the scope. Is that because of too much light and would a filter sort that out?

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Hi, you can take good images of Jupiter with a webcam and no filter, but you will need to adjust the gain setting on your webcam if it has one otherwise it will come out overexposed as you seem to have found out.

What's the gain setting then? Sorry but i'm a total amateur on everything.

Great choice. This camera is popular with imagers. The gain setting is probably better explained by someone more experienced than myself. I just know that it adjusts the setting for capturing bright objects or dim objects.

Great choice. This camera is popular with imagers. The gain setting is probably better explained by someone more experienced than myself. I just know that it adjusts the setting for capturing bright objects or dim objects.

Excellent, I was worried you were going to say it was the wrong one. Was recommended by another one of you fellas in a different thread, i've also bought the adaptor. I'm hoping it'll arrive at the same time as my planisphere and the skies will be clear.

An IR blocking filter should be just about all you'll need for planetary imaging. It quite simply screws into the end of the webcam adapter.

Although, on saying that I've had some good imaging results of Jupiter without the filter!