NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

What order is your workflow in PP?

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I think that the following need to be applied during PP to process your image. I guess what I'm interested in is in what order do you do these? Is there a better way round to do the? ie levels before curves, saturation at the end?

Levels

Curves

Colour balance

Saturation

Sharpening

NR

If I've missed anything then please add it. As a total newb, I'm bound to have missed loads!! If you can say what order you process in, that would be really helpful.

I would put noise reduction 1st so that you aren't processing the noise during the workflow.

After saturation I would save a newly named tiff with layers, this is then your master reference file.

Any sharpening should be done after resizing for whatever media you intend to display the image on i.e the web, paper etc.

It is always an iterative process!

Levels, three iterations, sometimes four; depends on the exposure level.

Curves, Often at least three iterations; initially to neutralise colour balance/bias.

Dupe layer, Threshold, star layer. Use R channel in NB.

Dupe background, set to Overlay, apply High Pass - carefully.

Adjust HP layer and flatten.

Neat Image. Don't do it at the beginning as you cannot see the noise. The filter result needs very careful examination before you approve it.

Final colour tweaks in Curves?

Unsharp Mask sharpening - apply very carefully.

Send to the printer.

All this is after standard calibration, alignment and combination in Maxim. Combination usually using Median or SD Mask output which will get rid of a lot of the noise.

Dennis

Very interesting to get this insight in the flow of others. I am with Dennis though there are a couple of new ones in there for me. I have never used High Pass, for instance.