NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Novice with DSLR opening RAW (cr2) files help!

I'm a complete novice with a dslr and am having trouble..

I can't open the RAW files.

They are listed as CR2 files.

I can't open them with Photoshop and I've tried with Deepsky stacker but that doesn't seem to acknowledge they exist at all!

Any help greatly appreciated!

What Canon do you have and what version of Photoshop are you trying to use ? I suspect you are using an older version of PS with a newer camera, and ACR doesn't understand the format of the newer raw's. What version of DSS is it ?

You can use the free app Faststone Image Viewer to open and view CR2 files.

FastStone Image Viewer - Powerful and Intuitive Photo Viewer, Editor and Batch Converter

I have Photoshop CS2 that does not open my CR2 files and so have purchased Photoshop Elements 8 which does have the up to date raw processing facility and then save as Tif files for processing etc.

Dave

Have you installed the software that came with the camera?

I Don't know if DSS needs the codecs installed...

Another option for getting the Raws into CS2 is Adobe's free RAW to DNG Convertor...

Adobe - Adobe Camera Raw and DNG Converter : For Windows : Adobe DNG Converter 5.5 update

Billy...

This is what i used to work with someone else's CR2 files. Worked well.

You can use the free app Faststone Image Viewer to open and view CR2 files.

FastStone Image Viewer - Powerful and Intuitive Photo Viewer, Editor and Batch Converter

I have Photoshop CS2 that does not open my CR2 files and so have purchased Photoshop Elements 8 which does have the up to date raw processing facility and then save as Tif files for processing etc.

Dave

Hi Dave

There is a plugin on at this site that works with my version of Photoshop CS2

h**p://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/content_page.asp?cid=7-7890-8173

hope this helps