Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Professional Astronomy?

Manok101

• Replies 43
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yep, Phd in Astronomy or Astrophysics.

Then a fair amount of luck, there are fair number of others doing the same qualifications and there are not that many openings.

The other question I would ask is: What do you think doing professional astronomy entails?

I did a BSc and MSc in Physics/Astrophysics and PhD in Astronomy, which is the conventional route. Luck, ability to write/present well and networking are also very important.

However, it depends what you mean by "getting into it". If you mean the research (the fun bit) rather than getting an academic job then there are alternatives. There's no "easy" though.

edit:

The other question I would ask is: What do you think doing professional astronomy entails?

Lots of time on IRAF and LaTeX, the odd talk here and there, lots of telescope-time proposals and occasional cold, jetlag and mild hypoxia on top of a mountain? Or am I missing out on something? :)

Lots of time on IRAF and LaTeX, the odd talk here and there, lots of telescope-time proposals and occasional cold, jetlag and mild hypoxia on top of a mountain? Or am I missing out on something? :)

Writing grant proposals to try and justify your existence and keep you and your postdocs/grad students in a job beyond the next six months?? Working out what your economic impact is?? Worrying that some other sod is going to publish exactly the same thing as you, and gazump two years worth of work?

Oh yeah, and getting to play with very cool bits of kit ;)

And also remember there are very few professional astronomers out there -- lots of professional astroPHYSICists-- the emphasis is strongly on the physics rather than the astronomy.