Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Help! Moon, webcam, mosaic, where to start?

Hi all,

Help needed. (I have googled this but can only come up with peoples finished articles rather than the process). First up I'm a noob with imaging/webcam, and I'm a bit stuck with the process of making a mosaic of the moon and need some guidance.

I've taken 5 different avi's using sharpcap, which I hope/think covers the whole moon. Then I figured I should next stack them in registax. I'm a new user, so maybe I'm not using it correctly, but the final image comes out a bit squiffy. So couple of questions.

1) Is using registax the first thing to do after capturing the avi?

2) If so, how can I stack the frames so that it only captures one part of the moon at a time. ie. i believe its trying to stack a picture of one sweep of the moon i.e. from one side to the other. Is this the wrong way to do. Soory for posting what is probably a really dumb question, but I just can't make head nor tail of it.

Appreciate your help.

Thanks

Am using a 8" dob btw, so moon is drifting across FOV.

I'm not sure I fully understand you, but you need to stack each avi individually in registax. When doing the first one, save the wavelets setting so that each section is processed in the same way. Then you need to use another software to stitch them together.

Hi all,

Help needed. (I have googled this but can only come up with peoples finished articles rather than the process). First up I'm a noob with imaging/webcam, and I'm a bit stuck with the process of making a mosaic of the moon and need some guidance.

I've taken 5 different avi's using sharpcap, which I hope/think covers the whole moon. Then I figured I should next stack them in registax. I'm a new user, so maybe I'm not using it correctly, but the final image comes out a bit squiffy. So couple of questions.

1) Is using registax the first thing to do after capturing the avi?