NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Seeking some advice

Hey, I'm Carl and I'm quite new to astronomy and recently just got intrigued while reading a book in a free study period. My query is that I'm kinda stuck at which sort of telescope I should get, could anybody give me a reference for one? I was thinking of getting one of those ones with a motor which knows the sky, however is it possible to take pictures with these? I live in quite a less populated area of the UK (The Fens) aswell which I hope helps with the quality of images.

Any help is much appreciated, cheers!:)

~Carl~

I think that you need to set your priorities first. Sure, you can have lots of aperture, GoTo, a stable mount, etc. but it'll cost you a lot and yield a scope so impractical you may rarely set it up (and may make you wait for hours before it yields good images).

Even if you eventually end up with the Scope that Does Everything, it may be cheaper on the long run to explore what you want exactly using a first scope that doesn't cost an arm and a leg and can be resold fairly easily.

As for astrophotography, it's really at least three different hobbies, each with different requirements, and you'll spend hours on an object and hours still behind a PC to get the most out of your raw imagery. It's not "oh, by the way, does it take a camera? Click!"

Set a budget first. Then set priorities, determine under what conditions you want to observe, ask questions, try to find a star party in your neighbourhood, etc.

Ah right, I guess ill have to work my way up through buying the equipment for the photography, dont think my mum will spend all that on xmas for me :) any recommendations of a starter scope at about £200-300, also is there a website that has some accessories that I may need, I heard about barlow eye pieces? Are they something I should get aswell?