NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Barlow lens help...

Hello all,

Hope someone is able to help.

I'm a complete newb who has recently purchased a Crestron AstroMaster 130EQ. Loving the scope and having great fun with it, so no problems there.

We decided to purchase a barlow lens - opted for the Crestron Omni 2x due to decent reviews - but having issues with focus and light, i.e. we can't get a crisp focus and it seems to have dulled the view considerably. Is this normal with a barlow or could it be something to do with set-up?

Look forward to reading your suggestions.

Many thanks.

Hi and welcome to the lounge.

As you probably know a barlow such as yours will double the magnification of any eyepiece you use it with. The higher magnification you use, the dimmer the view becomes. Too much magnification is bad especially if the seeing is poor.

What eyepieces are you using and what are you trying to view?

Puting the barlow lens in, doubles the focal length of your scope and therefore gives you significantly less light (1/4 for a 2x barlow if memory serves) therefore it will look dimmer.

If the resultant magnification is over 200x then you will fiind seeing becomes an issue and atmosheric condition, collimation and EP quality will all come into play.

If the initial image is poor then adding more glass simply makes it poorer. More glass does not add to the quality.

A better eyepiece simply has less aberations then a poor one. When people buy a good eyepiece they are "improving" the quality of what they see by reducing the faults not by having an eyepiece that magically negates problems.

A better eyepiece is simply better because it isn't as bad as the one it is replacing.

When you add in a barlow you are adding the barlow defects to what you see.

good quality barlows and powermates are invisible....