Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M45 - Grey original, artifacts and over-processing?

Hi there - I thought I'd try my arm at M45 (now that it's risen above next door's garage before 11pm) - I used a Canon 40D, 180mm/f3.5 800ISO, 120s (40 subs, 20 darks, no bias, no flats or flat darks) attached straight to a plate on a CG5+synscan.

As I'm new to imaging (but am sadly badly hooked! :)), I may be trying to do too much at once (or maybe not understanding the true importance of some of the technicalities), but I've come up with the attached (using DSS, CS5 (inc Astronomy tools & gradient xterminator).

Although I'm sort of half-pleased with it, I have a feeling that I may have tried to force this perhaps a little too much as, close up, it shows quite a few what I assume are processing artifacts (but that's something I can obviously go back on). However, I'm a little confused that although the raw images contained colour, after stacking, the output was grey - DSS noted that all the subs were gray 16 bit(?) and the only way I could get any nebulosity colour back was by using the magic wand tool (surely that's not right?), in addition to which all the star colour had completely disappeared and I also seem to have somehow picked up some concentric "noise" rings along the way - Has any one any ideas where these may have come from, or how I could get rid of them? (I haven't seen them before... :))

I've attached my attempt and also the original DSS (grey) output file (adjustments applied - RGB alignment)

Hi Andy,

Couldn't do anything about the lost colour in the image with the 'rings' but it's all there in the 'grey image' and is easy to bring out.......... nice capture actually although I think I might be inclined to crop it a little. :)

Anyhow,image with history column attached......... and as usual, how you use your tools is up to you. :)

post-13495-133877483307_thumb.jpg