Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

PHD Guiding help

Can anyone please tell me the best way to use PHD for guiding.

I have my Neq6 pro connected upto my laptop via the handset using the correct cables etc.

What i have been doing is inputing all the time date etc and aligning the mount using the handset then i return the mount to the park position and then cancel park, then i set the handset to pc-direct and start up phd/cdc.ascom etc and then take it from there...is this the correct way to do it or should i not park the scope after ive alligned it?

also, when using phd what speed should it be set at? 0.05, 0.1, 0.2 0.5 etc etc.

Im just learning how to guide and last night was the first time ive actually got phd to guide my scope, but when i checked the graph the two lines were up and down like a mountain range!!...as i understand it, they should be as level to the center of the graph as possible, is there anything i should adjust to get it working right?

One last question (which im not sure if its linked to my problem) but on the ascom platform, i had the slew speed set to 4, should i change this to 1 when i want to start guiding?

sorry for so many questions but 5 minutes on here saves several wasted nights outside and we all know how hard it is to get a decent nights imaging in the UK!:p

Hi Mick

Are you running Eqmod too ?

I use Eqmod & phd with a Heq5pro to my laptop.

If going thru the handset, I dont put in any of the info to the handset, just keep pressing enter then select Direct pc mode.

The eqmod software should get all the info (time ect) from your pc & planetarium software.

I useualy have the scope in the home position with weights down, scope pointing up.

How good is your polar allignment ? The graph will get smoother with better polar allignment.

Dont need to alter slew speed , thats just for when your slewing

Im no expert tho :p

Greenkat