Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Planet Shot

I mounted my Canon 5D2 and 1.4x converter to the back of my Mak 127 and took a photo of Jupiter a few nights ago. It was a rush shot, I really had no time to set things up properly or to experiment. It's a single image blown up and cropped. Any hints, tips or comments would be appreciated, thanks.

Tony

post-19789-133877468497_thumb.jpg

Hi Tony, Well done their! looks like you've got the beginings of a great shot.

I'm no expert. But i think your problem lies in the fact that it is just a single shot, menaing theirs not that much data their to play with when you crop it etc. So next time try taking as many shots as you can and stack them togeather using registaxs (free app) or somthing, and i think you should have a much sharper image.

You do have to consider the rapid rotation of Jupiter though.

so...more images= more data and i believe this is the main reason most people will prefer to use a webcam or similer as they can then break down the...say 10 minuite video into hundreds if not thousands of individual images and then go on to stacking and processing.

But like i said im no expert i just read alot on this forum! lol

So im sure somone will corect me if im wrong.

Good luck and keep at it! :p

Michael

Hi Tony, looks like you've got the start of a good shot there.

I agree with Michael that you need more data and I've played with the levels a bit just to show what data is already in there (though I'm not great at this). The more images you stack up the more detail will appear.

Nice first shot.

Mark

post-20393-133877469027_thumb.jpg

Thanks Mark. I never did get to do any processing on the image, it came straight from the camera. I thought it to poor an image to do anything with it.

I have just played with it briefly and this is the best I can do.