SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Newbie help!

Hi all,

Newbie here so please ben gentle!

Today is my birthday (seriously!) and I've always been interested in space stuff and astronomy, so for my present from her indoors, I asked for a telescope. As I wanted a fairly decent one I did some research and decided on a Sky-Watcher Skymax-127 SynScan AZ GOTO - this was a bit over the budget for the birthday present so I made up the difference in the cost.

Anyway - I've jsut opened up a nice box with the 'scope and I've putting it altogether.

I've got the optical tube on the tripod (that one screw holding the expensive optic give me the creeps :)) and now I come to the eye piece. I've got a 90 degree mirror, and couple of other lenses - a 2x barlow and some other eye relief lense.

Question is - what do I do with these? I assume I screw in the 90 degree mirror (the screws just meet the metal surround - right) but what do I do with the other bits?

Sorry for the dumb questions...

Looking forward to have a go with this tonight!

Cheers

Lee

Hi Lee,

The 90 degree mirror (diagonal it's generally called) fits into the back of the scope - there should be a tube with a thumbscrew fitted to the back of the tube for the diagonal to slide into - tighten the thimbscrew to hold the diagonal in place.

To use the scope you just need to put an eyepiece in the diagonal - use the eyepiece with the largest number in mm ie: 25mm to start with while you get the hang of it. Eypeices with smaller numbers, eg 10mm give more magnification and the barlow lens goes between the eyepiece and the diagonal to double the power of the eyepiece.

Take lots of time in daylight to get used to the scope, align the finder and work out what all the bits do (the manual might help a bit but keep asking questions as well). In the darkness all the time spent in daylight will pay off !.

Hi,

Thanks for the fast response!