Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

advice on budget telescope

Hi,

i am really tight on budget (just a student) and i need a small telescope that i can carry around easily and see the moon's craters and Jupiter's cloud bands (even dimly) and Saturn's rings. (i am totally new at this)

my budget is only US$ 150 (with shipping ;) and i live in Saudi Arabia) i know this is crazy. but i have found one telescope fitting the budget.

Zhumell Zenith 60x600 Telescope - Telescopes at Binoculars

is it good enough for the things i mentioned above?

is there any other option that you prefer?

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to the forum. ;)

The 'scope you've linked to looks very cheap and plasticy, more a toy than a real instrument.

With amateur telescopes, I'm afraid, it really is a case of getting what you pay for.

Not sure what is, or isn't, available in Saudi Arabia or what the rules are on importing things.

But if money is tight you may be better getting some good quality binoculars, rather than an inferior 'scope.

HTH

thanks for the advice.

yes it looks like a toy, i can live with that.

my only concern is that, weather it would give me my objectives (which aren't much, i guess)

Saudi Arabia is not very good for astronomy products. i have read in Saudi forums that even the big cities lack a proper astronomy store.

and i don't think they will take any duty for the import. i have bought some stuff over ebay and never had to pay any duty.

and i have a 16x50 binocular using which i can see Jupiter's moons. so i guess i just need a little more magnification ;)

thanks.

I have to agree with the others tho.

I had such type of telescope when I was a young teenager and it was just simply put: Rubbish! And all it did was discouraging me and put me off astronomy for many years to come.

The Optics are very cheap. The housing is very cheap.

The only thing you going to see through it is the moon. And that's about it really.