Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

The UHC world.. Confusing!

Ok, first of, not sure whether this is a correct section for this - if not, please feel free to (re)move. And it may as well just be useless, as there is so much written about filters by people who actually Know what they're talking about, rather than some absolute noob (me) rambling about it. Please note, I do NOT have any first-hand experience with filters, and all this gibberish is merely what I have read, my "journey into choosing a filter" without actually trying one, and thus, it is probably more like an elaborate (VERY elaborate) question, rather than an answer :D However I do hope the simple graph I collated from few sources will help someone visualize the difference in these rather common filters. I offhandedly made it for myself to understand all this thing better, so I thought I would share.

I've been recently reading A LOT about various equipment in order to educate myself as best as I can before purchasing a more serious kit, as I want it to last quite a bit. One of the areas of "research" was, of course, filters. And oh my (nothing shocking here) have I found it confusing and overwhelming. :( Sometimes I do feel like not having a huge freedom of choice, makes life a heck easier :) After spending hours and hours browsing through posts and various sites, I kind-of made my mind up upon choosing an UHC filter over an OIII for visual use. That was until I found out there were (again) plenty to choose from, and they all seamed different!! :D Spending more hours reading, only seamed to make things worse (a common practice, I believe :eek: ) as there was no strong agreement upon which one was "the best" ( I know I know, "there is no such thing",:D ).